Ng Fong Chao: Untitled at Fifty
Publish at
Ng Fong Chao: Untitled at Fifty

“Ng Fong Chao: Untitled at Fifty”

Preface

“I am fifty years old this year…art is everything to me.” As Ng Fong Chao is explaining the ideas about his solo exhibition and his artworks, I listen carefully and not without some pondering thoughts. Confucius had once written, “At fifty, I knew the Decrees of Heaven.” If there is indeed a destiny for everything and everyone, what would be the “decrees of Heaven” for Ng Fong Chao?

Within the period of the last two years, Fong Chao has been through two major events in his life: the death of his father and the birth of his son. Life is intrinsically interdependent with Death. Reaching to the age of fifty, Fong Chao has witnessed the dying process of his father on his deathbed. And not long after, his son was also born. The experience of his father’s passing away carried a tremendous resonance in Fong Chao’s life. He laments the fact that he was separated from his father since childhood and was not able to grow up near him. As Macau AFA has invited him to hold a solo exhibition, he has taken the occasion to create a new series of artworks dedicated to his father, revealing in front of us the depth of his reflections upon the subject of Life and Death.

Ng Fong Chao has arrived in Macau from Ningbo during the 80’s at the age of sixteen. As a teenager he has started working. Though he was introduced into the harsh reality of the society at such a young age, he has since the beginning carried with him the dream of art. Through his incessant learning and practice, this dream has become his reality step by step. Currently an exhibition curator at the Macau Art Museum, he has started his studies since 1987 participating in a series of art courses. He was graduated with a bachelor degree at the Visual Art School of the Macau Polytechnic Institute majoring in Visual Art and Painting. In 2010 he was graduated with a master degree at the Art Academy of Fine Arts in Guangzhou majoring in Modern and Contemporary Art Creation and Research.

During this process Ng Fong Chao has developed his art mainly based on practices. His exploration of the artistic media is unusually wide, including printing, painting, sculpture, performance art, conceptual photography, video art and installation. Even though Fong Chao has a low-profile style and is a man of few words, he is however quite readily sarcastic to the affairs of our world. His humour is often acutely present in his artworks. His series of conceptual photography in which he was dressed in wedding gown is one of his trademarks. Set against the touristic and historical sites in Macau, he was dressed as a demoiselle and was photographed. Seeing his manly face in these pictures one cannot decide if he should be considered charming or shy. His performance art is equally provocative. In many of his actions he can be seen half naked doing various ceremonies with the chopped head of a pig. In some others he was seen surrounded by a team of Barbie dolls that are “watching” him washing his feet.

Passionate in performance art, Ng Fong Chao must have been deeply influenced by the founder of Happening Art, Allan Kaprow and has long considered daily life as the raw material of his art. In “Essays on the Blurring of Art and Life” (1993), Kaprow proclaimed, “This everyday world affects the way art is created as much as it conditions its response.” Ng Fong Chao’s artwork in the current exhibition,  “Materialisation: My Studio”, is composed with everyday life objects that he uses in the process of creation. He installs these collected objects directly into the gallery. He writes, “There are different objects in my studio. Sometimes I use these objects but sometimes they dominate me. Sometimes I use my body as a tool.” The artist uses this specific art form in order to blur the boundary between art and life. For Ng Fong Chao, it is an instinct. Theory of art for him is like talking about stratagem on paper. Grounded in the reality he carries out his works in an orderly fashion but he is at the same time rebellious to the general values in the society. Art is the space where he can rebel against these values freely. He rebels against the role between men and women, he rebels against the tradition, he rebels against the way people see art. And for this reason, Performance Art has necessarily become his unique way of expression.

But reaching middle age, Ng Fong Chao does not rebel just for the sake of it. In this season of change, he reflects upon decades of art practices in his life and reaches out for a mid-term assessment. He examines the proposition of Life and Death through the artistic means and life itself is his material. In the video installation artwork “Final Note” he has filmed the final words of his dying father in video. The video is installed inside a channel. Death is not the end but a transition. And then in the work “Speech without Words”, both the deathbed testament of his father and the baby babbling sound of his six-month-old son were recorded and translated anew with the voice translation application on a smartphone. These unreadable translated sentences are printed and honourably framed on the wall. Through the artistic way of thinking, the artwork is a solemn response of the artist toward the interminable cycle of Life and Death.

Individual perishment has led to reflection of existence and human conditions. In the installation artwork of “Rebirth: a Fantasy about the End of the World”, the artist has built a confined space where a fish is being kept and fed. What appears to be its comfort zone is at the same time its doom. When the peaceful aquarium is being stirred by unforeseeable forces, the end of the days is approaching. Is this not also the fate of human kind?

In 2009 Ng Fong Chao has created a series of conceptual photography during the performance of “The Prosperity Alarm of the Goldfish Tank in Nam Van Lake” where a group of high school students in uniform can be seen eating raw pork meat or gambling by the lakeside against the casinos background view. Fong Chao has printed out this series of photos again and has painted on top of them with watercolour. The new series is titled “Traversing – Mirage”. The view is still there but the people no longer will be. What we can see on the artwork now appears to be a new landscape painting with watercolour. Why did Ng Fong Chao repaint on top of this old series of photos? Perhaps it is the ultimate response of the artist in front of social injustice. What has to be exposed has now become the reality in front of everyone’s eyes. Can one make any change at all? “Next to nothing.” The artist sighs.

At the now when everything is destined to be faded away, humanity when facing the fear of the unknown, knows nothing but keep on grasping onto its own insatiable desire, sacrificing the Nature as the offering at the altar of our ignorance. In the artwork “God of Sea”, the image of each god has been made abstract. Each of them is in charge of a man-made object as if they are mocking at human kind. Our modern life is turning useless playthings into our god to the detriment of our own fate.

As Ng Fong Chao has written a few years ago in his artist statement, “To reveal the truth of facts coarsely, to point out the core of the problem vaguely, and to state the personal view point surrealistically, is also an attitude toward the society.”

Today, the “Decrees of Heaven” found by Ng Fong Chao in the polluted water of reality has finally been purified by the process of Death.

And he says casually, “Untitled at Fifty.”

Curator
Alice Kok

Other Exhibition
(中) 後浪—澳門全藝社十一週年90後會員作品展
All Activities

五十無題-吳方洲個人作品展
發佈於
五十無題-吳方洲個人作品展

《吳方洲-五十無題》

 

前言

 

「我今年五十歲了…藝術是我的全部。」聽著吳方洲娓娓道來他的個展方向和作品理念,我心有所感。孔子寫道:「五十而知天命」。對吳方洲而言,「天命」又是什麼?

 

去年至今年於兩年的時間內,吳方洲經歷了人生非常重大的兩件事:他父親的去世和兒子的出生。「生死」本是相依之人生命題,方洲於踏進知天命之年,親眼目睹了父親於病榻上離開人世的過程,於後又迎來了新生的兒子。父親離世的經歷對他來說是非一般的震撼。他感嘆自小與父親分離,未能在他身邊成長。碰巧今年他接受了澳門全藝社之邀請舉辦個展,於是他透過藝術創作,把自己對人生的感悟一一呈現,並獻給亡父。

 

從小就學會自力更生的吳方洲,於80年代從中國寧波移居澳門,當時十六歲的他年紀輕輕就開始工作,雖然很早就跳進了社會這個大染缸,但他卻從一開始便有著對藝術追求的夢想。這夢想透過他不斷的實踐,一步步成為了他的現實。現職澳門藝術博物館策展人的他,從1987年開始由利用工餘的時間參與一系列的進修課程開始,至後來於澳門理工學院藝術高等學校「視覺藝術系油畫專業」學士畢業;至2010年於廣州美術學院「現當代藝術創作及研究」獲得碩士學位畢業。

 

這一路走來,方洲習慣了以實踐為主導,探索的藝術媒介非常廣泛:版畫、油畫、雕塑、行為藝術、觀念攝影、錄像、裝置等等。認識方洲這些年,看到他雖然行事低調寡言,但骨子裡總帶著一種對世事調侃的味道。他的作品多喜歡與觀者開玩笑,他板著一本正經的臉穿著婚紗的一系列觀念攝影作品讓人印象深刻,他「男人老狗」化身成待嫁的少女,在澳門的景色下展現出的不知道應該說是嫵媚還是腼腆。然後他的行為藝術也不遑多讓,赤裸著上身拿著豬頭做各式各樣的儀式,或者讓一群芭比洋娃娃女郎靜靜地看著他洗腳⋯⋯

 

醉心於行為藝術的吳方洲,應該深受「偶發藝術」(Happening Art)之始創人亞倫.卡布羅(Allan Kaprow)的影響,一早就把日常生活視為藝術創作的物料。於《藝術與生活的模糊分際》(1993)一書中,卡布羅宣示:「這個日常的世界影響著藝術的創作方式,同時也影響著人們對藝術的反應。」於吳方洲的《物化:我的工作室》作品中,正正滲透著他的日常世界的一事一物。他把工作室多年來收集的「珍藏」都佈置在展場內,他寫道:「工作室有各種各樣的物件,有時候我在支配物件,有時候我又被它們所控制,有時我把身體當作工具來使用。」這樣的一種藝術形式與表達,是藝術家蓄意模糊藝術與生命的界線。於吳方洲而言,是一種本能。藝術理論對他來說只是紙上談兵,立足於現實世界,他按步就班的實踐著,卻又並不甘心順從一般的價值觀。藝術之於他是可以盡情反叛的空間,他要反轉男女角色;要反轉傳統;反轉一般人對藝術的看法,所以行為藝術是他必然的選擇。

 

但人到中年,方洲也不是只為了反而反。他沉澱了過去數十年的藝術人生,在這生死交替白商素節之時,在自己的生命中做個中期小結。他透過藝術的手法,審視生死這命題,生命就是他的創作物料。錄像裝置作品《結語》是他拍攝父親離世前所說的話的紀錄,被裝置在一個通道裡面,死亡本身就是一種過渡的體驗。然後於作品《有言無語》中,父親彌留之際的最後遺言和六個月大兒子的牙牙學語都被錄製下來,再透過現代通訊工具的語音識別功能被重新翻譯,隆而重之的把這些無人能看懂的翻譯語句框起來, 這是藝術家對生老病死的一個鄭重的回應,透過藝術方式的思考,他感悟著生命的循環不息。

 

關於滅亡的反思,從個人的經歷再推進到生存狀態。於《重生:對末日論的幻想》的裝置作品中,藝術家建構了一個被擺佈的空間。魚在缸中被養著,看似舒適卻又無從掌握自身的命運,什麼時候平靜的水被不可預計的力量搞動了,便是末日的來臨了。這也是當下人類面臨末世生活的無奈與可悲。

 

2009年方洲於澳門 《南灣湖的金魚缸之盛世危言》的行為藝術中創作了一系列的觀念攝影作品,相片的背景是賭場林立的澳門,有一些穿著校服的中學生, 拿著生豬肉在吃,也有在湖邊擺檔賭博的女學生。方洲把這些舊作重新打印出來,再親手用水彩上色,成為了是次展覽的作品《擺渡-海市蜃樓》。景物依舊,人事已非。我們現在能看到的,都是殘存的美麗景緻。為什麼要把舊作重新創作?這也許是藝術家對現實社會不滿的極致回應,曾經要曝露的都擺在眼前了,能改變嗎?「微乎其微。」藝術家感嘆道。

 

在一切都必然會成為過去的當下,人類在面對未知的恐懼時,卻只懂抓緊著滿足自己的欲望,把大自然犧牲來完成對自身無知的祭祀。作品《海神》中的每一個神祇形象都被抽象化了,祂們掌管著每一件人類製造出來的物件,彷彿嘲笑著人們,我們自身的命運都無從掌握,卻把這些無聊的玩物奉若神明。

 

正如吳方洲自述的藝術宣言:「粗糙地揭開事實的真相,模糊地看準問題的本質,超越現實地陳述個人的論點,這也是對社會的一種態度。」

 

今天,吳方洲得知的「天命」,在現實生活的渾水中被死亡淨化了。

 

他淡然地說道:「五十無題」。

 

策展人
郭恬熙

其他展覽
「步移景易 – 黎小傑個人作品展」開幕熱鬧紛紜!
所有活動