“Deconstruction and Reconstruction – A Glimpse of Anthropological Landscape” Works by Tang Kuok Hou
Publish at
“Deconstruction and Reconstruction – A Glimpse of Anthropological Landscape” Works by Tang Kuok Hou

This preface explores into Tang Kuok Hou’s works from three aspects: anthropology as a method of “self”; confronting the “sight-seeing society” by rendering everyday objects into “landscape”; the motive of non-aesthetic and implicit writing metaphors.

1.
In his book “Artists as ethnographer”, Hal Foster pointed out that contemporary artists who use anthropological methods and documentation types often fall into the “myth” of “realism” while emphasizing the objectivity of creation, or they are unconsciously constructing the notion of “the other” within their own inner world.

As an artist with a sociological knowledge background, Kuok Hou is reflexively reinventing himself with the “in-the-field method”. The capturing process of the images takes place as if in a “questionnaire”. Such as collecting different scenes on a certain theme, or photographing different aspects around a target area—without prior involvement of subjective intent. Subjective and mostly external methods are used to suspend subjectivity, and the mandatory repetition of the patterning process makes control of the works ineffective, so that the most inevitable and deepest sense of Self is revealed in a residual way.

The “Practice: Statement-Classification-Preset-Example” series, which is named after the rigorous empirical method steps, was reflected in the process of re-composition after the filming, deliberately setting the space for allegorical association and interpretation.

2.
The so-called “landscape” originally refers to the reality of the consumer society’s fragmented ready-made life, guiding the eyes and consciousness of the crowd to the deceptive gigantic illusion. Kuok Hou redefines the concept of “landscape”: the everyday objects that are not watched are called “landscapes”, or become the center of gaze through the formal language of images, or they are obscured by new perspectives of alienation. The meaning is renewed with uncertainty and new connotation…

Take the case of a work as an example:
As a common object in the middle of the historical-cultural representative field, the core of the ritual is produced with a specific composition…
The artificial reservoir pond transforms into a natural blue sky through reflection, and the blue sky is turned upside down like a manmade landscape in the scene…
To adjust the area of large-area color steel fences, construction sheds and surrounding small plants in the picture, the composition triggers its illusion within a large area of vegetation…
The continuation of this idea, in the composition of “#Object: Floating Object”, Kuok Hou’s self-reported “floating object” is a variable-size object, which creates an imagination of the huge variable of the city as a sea, while the floating object is under observation among them. It is the artist’s method to measure his “city.”

3.
We know that allegory is a way of euphemistically using words and sayings, and we cannot make an interpretation of symbolic meaning out of it. The wonderful metaphor of Kuok Hou stems from his dispelling of textual description of the background information. The motive of this kind of metaphor is not aesthetics, sensation, it is rather an implicit writing after self-examination… The way in which the meanings are understood but the words are twisted is also a form of art.

In the “#Notes:” series that continues this line of thought, Kuok Hou uses the term of Durkheim wittily to name the public sculpture that uses the handshake symbol mechanically as “Organic Solidarity”. By being rendered into “landscapes”, the objects regain the central position. The umbrellas are named instead as “Mechanical Solidarity”. The work “Establishing Symbols” can refer to the deep structure of universal culture in anthropology. It can also refer to the ideology in a particular cultural system. But in the case of Kuok Hou, it may also be referred to as a “symbolic deficiency” of the current society: where a word can only correspond to one thing, the symbol with rich connotation has lost its validity. And the author knows that it is impossible to be force the transformation and yet he can only try.

Therefore, Kuok Hou named his own exhibition as a note that can be a trial where mistakes are allowed. It is a trip within a trip; deconstruction, in order to re-structure.

Lei Lai

Other Exhibition
(中) 後浪—澳門全藝社十一週年90後會員作品展
All Activities

“消解與重構”一趟人類學的景觀筆記 – 鄧國豪個人作品展
發佈於
“消解與重構”一趟人類學的景觀筆記 – 鄧國豪個人作品展

此前言從三方面切入鄧國豪的創作:作為“自我”之方法的人類學;以日常物的“景觀化”為策略對抗“景觀社會”;非審美的、隱微寫作的隱喻之發生動機。

一。
福斯特在《作為民族誌作者的藝術家》指出,人類學方法、文獻類型的當代藝術家往往在強調創作客觀性的同時,陷入“現實主義”的“神話”,或無意識地只是在建構自身世界內部角色的“他者”。

作為一個社會學知識背景的藝術家,國豪則反過來自覺地以“田野方法”來重塑自我。“問卷調查”式地以某一主題拍攝不同場景的圖像,或圍繞某一物件區域拍攝其不同層面——其間並不涉及主觀意圖的先行置入。以客觀、近乎外在的方法來懸擱主觀,以模式化重複拍攝過程的強制性使自己對作品的控制欲失效,從而讓最不可避免的、最深處的自我以殘餘的方式被揭示。

以嚴謹的實證方法步驟為名的《練習:陳述-分類-預設-模型-例證》系列,在拍攝過後再行反身觀照,再以組合為方式二次賦予意義的過程中,卻發見了刻意設置的寓言式聯想解讀的空間。

二。
所謂“景觀”,原指消費社會割裂現成生活的真實,把人群的目光和意識引導到欺騙性的龐大幻覺。國豪重新界定“景觀”的概念:不被注視的日常物被稱為“景觀”,或通過影像的形式語言成為凝視的中心,或通過疏離化的新視角而使其習焉不察的無意義煥發出不確定的新意味……

舉作品個案為例:
作為歷史-文化代表性場域中間立著的尋常物,以特定構圖產生儀式核心的觀感……
人工的蓄水塘通過反射化身為自然的藍天,而藍天又倒過來顯得像場景中的人為景觀……
對調大面積彩鋼防護欄、建築工棚和周邊小株植物在畫面中的面積,構圖引發其在大片植物之中的錯覺……
延續這一思路的作品《對象.漂浮物》組圖,國豪自述”漂浮物”是一件尺寸可變的客體,把城市這個巨大的變量想像成一個海洋,而漂浮物則是它當中的觀察標的物,從而去度量他的”城市”。

三。
我們知道,諷喻是一種委婉地借此言彼的方式,不可做一種象徵寓義的解讀。國豪的美妙隱喻源於他消解了背景資訊的文字說明。這種隱喻的發生動機並非審美、抒情,也可能是自我審視後的隱微寫作……展現一種相顧而曲言的方式本身同樣是藝術。

延續這一思路的《筆記》系列中,國豪詼諧地使用涂爾幹的術語,把機械地運用握手符號的公共雕塑起名作《有機團結》,而通過“景觀化” 重拾中心位置的遮陽傘卻反而是《機械團結》;《追尋象徵》在人類學中可以指找尋普世性的文化深層結構,也可指找尋特定文化系統裏的意識形態,但在國豪這裏,也有可能是意指當下社會的“象徵缺失症”:一個詞只能對應一個物,具有豐富內涵的象徵失效了,筆記作者知不可而強為地黽勉……

是以,國豪為自己展覽命名:一本可以試錯的筆記,一趟時有迂回的旅途;解構,為了再結構。

策展人:雷徠

其他展覽
後浪—澳門全藝社十一週年90後會員作品展
所有活動